Homeschool Vibrancy in 2017

HomeschoolNegroPic1

Homeschooling is a pretty common method of education on the far right, including with Kinists. I was homeschooled from grades five through twelve. Thus I have seen, and vividly remember, both the public school and homeschool scenes. I graduated in 2001, so that is my frame of reference. It seems things may have changed a bit since then…

Both of my parents attended and graduated from public schools. In their day, it was either public school or private school. I glean that private schools back then catered to the wealthy, unless they were (often Roman Catholic) religious schools. My parents did not come from wealthy families, and thus attended public school from beginning to end.

Homeschooling really took off in America in the last fifty years. The homeschool movement was in large part a way to escape the cultural filth and degrading academic standards of the public schools of the time. Homeschooling became rather popular among conservative Christians, and the Christian Reconstruction movement seems to have played an important role in advocating for it.

When my parents took me out of the local public school, they chose to educate me with curriculum from A Beka Book (now simply branded as Abeka), which was associated with Pensacola Christian College. Abeka was supposed to be a more rigorous, 1950s type curriculum than some Christian publishers put out. Some of the people we then went to church with used different curriculums, such as those put out by Bob Jones University. Abeka was openly Christian in worldview, and somewhat Puritan oriented.

I was a member of a homeschool group for several years in the 1990s. It was for homeschoolers in the Orange County area, and usually met in a church basement in the town of Orleans. It was pro-Christian, but non-denominational. Everyone there was White.

We would often go to a convention room at a hotel that an A Beka Book salesman came to once a year to view the books, and to then place an order for the next year’s curriculum. One year, my family and our preacher and his family even carpooled to this event. Other families would be there, who we had never met. As I recall it, all of them were White.

In 2008, long after graduation, I started attending a Baptist church, which loved large families, natural foods, and homeschooling. Literally every family homeschooled. But it was a bit different. There was an interracial couple there who homeschooled. And before I left a large, homeschooling white family with half a dozen or so biological kids showed up –with the three children they had brought over from Liberia and adopted. The times, they are a changin’…

Last week I was sitting in a restaurant with Fox News playing on the television on the wall. I saw something that I had never saw before, a commercial on mainstream TV for Abeka homeschool books. Oh the vibrancy! This commercial depicted children of several races, and Negro parents homeschooling their children. Seriously? Either things have changed dramatically in the last 15 years, or Abeka is virtue signaling that they are not rayciss’, no sir! Look at our vibrant commercial!

Then I did a little research. I found a study that stated that during school year 2011-12, 83% of homeschooled children were White, with only 5% being Negro. (It also noted that only 3% of American children were homeschooled that year). I guess that there are now a few black families in evangelical churches who are homeschooling, but I never met any in the time I was homeschooled (1993-2001). There are now even websites for Black homeschool families. Imagine the outrage and cries of “rayciss” if White people started *openly White* homeschool family resource websites.

Black woman with the common wild flower known as a Blackeyed Susan.

Has the homeschooling scene suddenly got much more “vibrant”? Perhaps, but it is still overwhelmingly White. Are homeschool curriculum publishers virtue signaling that they are not that dreaded “R” word? Oh yes. Maybe, in the lust for mammon, they are simply trying to widen their audience? Most likely.

Everything that White people do is marketed to Blacks. Every institution that we built is opened to them. Our own people go out of their way, as in this Abeka homeschool commercial, to act like the minorities are the majority, and to cater to them. (Well, in this case, to make some shekels from them).

I suppose that in present day Imperial America, one can cater to any special interest, minority, or subgroup –except straight white male Protestant Christians. Funny thing, as that was the group that settled this country and founded its political institutions.

When I was a child, my mother read me books about the past, of frontiersmen and of cowboys and pioneers; these heroes were White. The first church that I went to as a little boy was 100% White. As a child and teenager, every preacher in my area that I personally knew -regardless of denomination- was a White male. Gun shows in my neck of the woods, 15-20 years ago, did not have Blacks in attendance. Homeschool groups were exclusively White. America was White. This is no longer the country of the Founders. This is no longer America.

© Copyright 2017 by Joseph Charles Putnam of Orange County, Indiana. All rights reserved.

Author: Joe Putnam

I am a Christian (Reformed/Sovereign Grace Baptist type), white American of Western European bloodline, advocate of an agrarian social order, Kinist, White Nationalist, admirer of America’s Founding Fathers and the Boys in Gray, homesteader, indie published author, and amateur historian. I have indie published several books, all of which are available from Amazon. I am a life long resident of rural Orange County, IN –in the part of the Upper South that many would term Greater Appalachia or the Dixie Frontier. In addition to my own blog "Putnam Liberty Notes", from May through July of 2017 I dual published many of my posts at the popular multi-author Alt-South blog Identity Dixie. In addition to my blog writings, I am currently gearing up for (at least) two more book projects –one theological and one historical. The theological one will cover the three interpretational views of Daniel’s 70th Week. I hope to have this book in print in late summer 2017. (Hint: I am, not a Dispensational Futurist). The historical book will be a biography of George Rogers Clark (1752-1818). Clark was a noted Virginia militia officer who’s campaigns, including his successful siege of Vincennes, basically took the Old Northwest from Britain during the American Revolution. Clark spent the rest of his life around the river that separates Clarksville, IN from Louisville, Kentucky. I hope to have my Clark bio in print in early 2018.

Leave a Reply

