Weekend Musings

JoeWhiteOak2017

 

I know I have messed up my normal schedule by posting on Wednesday and Saturday, but such is life. I have been thinking quite a bit this last week, on subjects as diverse as current events, history, finances, the concept that all information should be free, the “grid” and its potential collapse, and the future of this blog. Part of this thought process began on Tuesday morning when I was driving home, and looking into the woods that enveloped the ridges and hollows that I was motoring through. I thought about what life was like in times past, about the way of our ancestors.

I am currently a bit disinterested in current events. I guess the big deal now is twofold. First, we have a temporary ceasefire in Syria, which is a good thing. A de-escalation of tensions between Russia and the U.S. would be good. Second, it appears that one of President Trump’s sons met with Russian lawyer during his campaign in 2016. The “Russia meddling in our elections” narrative has been given new life by this disclosure. The Jewish meddling in our elections (via media and finance) remains a taboo subject though.

I love history, as evidenced by many of my posts on this blog. While I have primarily concentrated on American history, I have recently been expanding my knowledge of ancient history. My readers do not seem to share that love of history. My July 7 post A Brief Trip to Clark’s Cabin at the Falls of the Ohio was not particularly popular. I embedded a link in it to a small (couple of pages) biography of Clark on the state park website received; and in the eight days since I posted it, it received no clicks. Zero clicks. Not one person who read my essay was interested enough in George Rogers Clark to click the link and read a brief overview of his life. And yet, I have read several books about him, visited sites connected to him, am in the process of tracking down vintage copies of books 75 plus years old concerning his exploits, and am gearing up to write a biography of him. It looks like that book will not sell well with my readers, and maybe not with any audience.

I do not know who my readers are, but the above paragraph implies that I am rather disconnected from them. To most people, most outside the mainstream types, and perhaps even most of my blog readers, talking about Trump, the Jews, and whatever is in the news cycle is apparently of much more interest than the history of our people. But how can a house be restored if the foundation (the history and culture of ones people) be neglected?

Most people are more interested in their comfort and finances than in their liberty, or the preservation of their people and their traditional culture. Maybe the “most people” also includes a large amount of the people who visit alternative “right wing” blogs and websites? This is evidenced by the choices they make in life, regardless of what words they say.

Which brings us to the next point, the concept that all information should be free. This was unheard of until the last century. Government laws were publically posted or readable at the county courthouse, as all were expected to obey them. But private media was not free. Books and newspapers were sold. Someone took the time and effort to research and write them, and then expend resources to have them printed. They were then sold, to compensate the producers of the content. But in the 20th century we had the rise of radio, then television, and then the internet. These were accessible for free, as long as one owned the electronic device necessary to hear or view them. But they were not truly free. They were produced by corporations who funded themselves by the selling of advertising on these media outlets; everyone was exposing themselves to the commercials for the products to get the news or entertainment content. Thus it seemed free, but was not. You payed for your telephone service, but not for analog television; this is because the phone company did not make you listen to a product commercial every time your received a call from a friend. You need to understand that every time you consume “free” media, someone with an agenda is paying for you to do so. The agenda may be as innocuous as to buy their brand of tooth paste, or may have deep political and cultural motivations.

Even free newsletters, political or religious, are not really free. Someone is donating to the entity (usually a corporation) that is producing the content and printing the letter. I guarantee that the content is not being written for free, unless the author is independently wealthy. And with religious entities, they are usually a 501 (c)(3) tax exempt corporations of the state, and thus can draw in even more dues than political advocacy corporations through the lure of tax deductions.

Enter bloggers. Blogs allowed average people, like me, to post content online for very little personal financial expenditure. Not without any expense and great time and effort- but much cheaper than taking out add in the newspaper. Blogs often do not have ads. Thus, they were free to their readers in a greater sense than TV or radio were. I do not have a donate button on this blog. I do not even have a link to my books available at Amazon or CreateSpace on the sidebar of this blog. And yet, I am burning up the last bit of life in my six year old laptop generating free content, content for people who generally do not buy my indie published books. My laptop has systemic issues, and a failing battery, and I do not think it will last the year. To continue blogging (and book writing) will require me to spend money for a new system. Logic tells me that I should not, yet a part of me loves to do so.

On top of this, my blog stats here at PLN have went down a bit in the last month. Thanks to my posting at Identity Dixie my readership has taken a huge jump upwards in the last two months, but not at PLN. I suppose that my PLN stats have dropped because some of my old readers may be now following me solely at Identity Dixie. Or maybe I have gotten too controversial, or have offended those still dreaming of restoring America. I do not know. I also get a great deal more reader comments and social media reshares at Identity Dixie than here at PLN. A great deal more.

Most people in present day America want to consume free information, and then go back to their corporate jobs and a life of consumption and entertainment. If I knew the ratio of hobbyists to activists among my readers, it would probably dishearten me enough to cease blogging and go build a cabin somewhere deep in the forest and let the world merrily proceed on its course to hell.

Unlike most political pundits, I think that our modern grid system of power, water, sanitation, petroleum fueled engines, and corporate food production and distribution are flawed, fragile, and unsustainable –and destined to collapse. If one truly believes this, they will be doing more in the way of preparation than buying some freeze dried food. I have expanded my gardens and small orchard this year, and hope to phase in chicken production this year. I am toying with the idea of raising hogs next year. I recently cleaned up my hand tools, including my axes and splitting maul. Though I do use a chainsaw for cutting firewood, I do sometimes use an axe for small projects. Our pioneer ancestors lived without a chainsaw, and we may need to do so for a time, maybe a long time.

Yesterday afternoon, I and some relatives took a drive through rural Martin County and ended up in Daviees county at Dinky’s. Dinky’s is an Amish run auction barn that has a sale every Friday night. Most of the bidders there are regular folks, but there Amish there, including running the bidding and selling refreshments. The “highlight” was seeing a trashy dressed white woman with her two mulatto boys; no man present of course. The oldest boy, who was perhaps ten, had a fro and a gold chain around his neck. At an Amish auction barn, in the middle of fields, with horses and buggies in the gravel parking lot. These days you literally cannot go anywhere to escape the vibrancy. (Note: I have never saw an non-white Amish person).

Finally, this brings me to the future of this blog. I enjoy blogging, and think that it is beneficial to some of my readers. I intend to continue posting here and at Identity Dixie. But I am no longer committing myself to posting multiple times a week. At this point, I will generally post once a week, sometimes twice if there is a book review or current event that I want to weigh in on. In addition to the essays that I dual publish here and at Identity Dixie, I will still be publishing some extra essays here that are not published elsewhere.

Sorry, but unlike TV and mainstream media websites, I do not have any advertisers or corporate funding, and this really is free info. Thus, you get what you get.

© Copyright 2017 by Joseph Charles Putnam of Orange County, Indiana. All rights reserved.

Author: Joe Putnam

I am a Christian (Reformed/Sovereign Grace Baptist type), white American of Western European bloodline, advocate of an agrarian social order, Kinist, White Nationalist, admirer of America’s Founding Fathers and the Boys in Gray, homesteader, indie published author, and amateur historian. I have indie published several books, all of which are available from Amazon. I am a life long resident of rural Orange County, IN –in the part of the Upper South that many would term Greater Appalachia or the Dixie Frontier. In addition to my own blog, I am a contributor to the multi-author blog Identity Dixie. I am active in promotion of the Alt-South movement. In addition to my blog writings, I am currently gearing up for (at least) two more book projects –one theological and one historical. The theological one will cover the three interpretational views of Daniel’s 70th Week. I hope to have this book in print in late summer 2017. (Hint: I am, not a Dispensational Futurist). The historical book will be a biography of George Rogers Clark (1752-1818). Clark was a noted Virginia militia officer who’s campaigns, including his successful siege of Vincennes, basically took the Old Northwest from Britain during the American Revolution. Clark spent the rest of his life around the river that separates Clarksville, IN from Louisville, Kentucky. I hope to have my Clark bio in print in early 2018.

Leave a Reply

