Farewell to the Amerikaner

AmerikanerConceptAmericanNationsOccDiss

 

The Amerikaner ethnic identity concept is just shy of one year old, but I believe that it has outlived its usefulness. Let me explain what it was, what it came to be, and why I hold that it is no longer of value to racially conscious whites in the decaying American empire.

The first essay on the Amerikaner concept was written by one Tnerb and posted on The Right Stuff back on June 16, 2016. I believed that Tnerb also talked about it on a Manifest Destiny podcast, which might no longer be on the internet. Tnerb’s essay was titled Behold, I Teach You the Amerikaner and was pretty decent. It compared the early white American settlers and their experience to the Boers of South Africa. It briefly highlighted American’s agrarian, gun owning, and Protestant Christian heritage. Tnerbs piece was not about the creation of an ethnostate, it was about an identity.

Prominent Alt-Right blogger Lawrence Murray began using the term, and eventually posted an article titled Amerikaner Free State on his blog The Atlantic Centurion and on TRS on November 23, 2016. This started a firestorm. Murray took the name Amerikaner name for his postulated white American ethnostate, but separated it from the past that Tnerb wrote of. He also declared part of Dixie in his ethnostate, and part of it not (left to the Negroes?). Murray wanted the capital to be Minneapolis (?). There was such a controversy that on November 26 he published a follow up titled Amerikaner Free State+[Thicc Nationalism Edition] with a new map. (On a side note, Murray has not posted on his blog since January 30, 2017, though the Twitter window on his site is active.

I thought that Tnerb’s concept had some merit, and I posted my essay I am an Amerikaner on my blog on November 27, 2016. My piece tried to return the use of the term Amerikaner to Tnerb’s concept, and strengthen our ties to the Boers and the heritage of our own ancestors. I praised the men of the American Revolution and the Confederates in my piece. Basically every historical person that I praised in my piece was a Southerner. I am sure that the pieces on TRS reached a much wider audience than my piece. My piece got just over 700 views in the seven months since posting, which is no doubt a fraction of TRS’ daily audience.

Then on December 8, 2016, one Prez Jeff Davis posted a piece titled Dixianism and Amerikanerism: Natural Allies on TRS. This piece took great issue with Murray’s appropriation of Dixie for his ethnostate, while blessing the Yankees to go and create an Amerikaner state up north. At this point, I probably should have let the Amerikaner concept go. (PrezJeffDavis’ now posts at the multi-author site Identity Dixie, as do I).

Instead of letting it go, I tried to rescue and strengthen Tnerb’s concept. On January 13, 2017 I indie published a small collection of essay titled Bloggings Of An Amerikaner. It contained 22 essays, 16 of them previously published on my blog. Three of the essays in this little book were Amerikaner themed, including my November one I am an Amerikaner. (On a side note, I also quoted Thomas Jefferson in this book, as I have in literally every book I have ever published).

I do not do social media like Facebook or Twitter. But when combing the net for Amerikaner references in early 2017, I became aware that there is a Facebook community calling itself the Amerikaner Nation. It seems to be a site of the National American White Workers Party, a group I had not heard of. On their about page, there was no mention of Tnerb, the Boers, or my piece on the Amerikaner concept.

After Hunter Wallace of Occidental Dissent unveiled his Alt-South concept in late January 2017 and posted his great February 17 piece What Is A Southerner?  I began the intellectual move to Dixie and full out Southern Nationalism. This is testified by my March 24 piece Greetings From Greater Appalachia and by my April 20 comparison piece Kinism, the Amerikaner Concept, and the Alt-South. My political and cultural worldview was already Southern, as is a great deal of my ancestry. My writings show that I hold that the great men of Virginia basically led the American Revolution –both ideologically and militarily. I escalated this trend with my May 5 piece The NRA: A Yankee Organization and my May 12 piece When Dixie Goes, So Do the Founding Fathers.

I think I have probably put more time into developing the Amerikaner concept than any other blogger. I also think that, in an internet world of pseudonyms, I might have been the only blogger who promoted the Amerikaner concept while using his real name and posting a photo online. I have come to the conclusion that the Amerikaner concept was flawed and has outlived its usefulness. This needs to be said.

The Amerikaner concept has several major flaws. First, it is an invented term. White Americans have (historically) never called themselves by this Germanic name. Second, it tried to encompass all whites regardless of their ethnic ancestry or religion. While pre-1850 America was settled primarily by Western Europeans, those people do have enough differences that they have literally fought each other in their mother countries. Third, which is a practical flaw but an ideological strength, is that the core concept articulated by Tnerb and strengthened by me was so rural, Christian, and agrarian oriented that urbanites and most Yankees would have found it revolting. (Perhaps that is why Lawrence Murray, whose blog posts indicate he was raised in New York City, left that part out of his essays). Fourthly, I have come to realize that racially conscious whites who would like much of the Amerikaner concept that I wrote about already have an identity –that they are Southerners from Dixie! Fifthly, you form a country around a people, not the other way around (especially if the people is a basically un-unified identity concept like Amerikaner).

I toyed with the idea of attempting to turn the Amerikaner concept into a “greater Dixie” concept. By greater Dixie, I mean a Dixie centered concept that in a post American empire and post collapse world would be willing to incorporate some rural states like Pennsylvania and the Rocky Mountain states into a Dixie republic. But that is not really plausible. America is far too large, and an attempt to basically recreate it without California, Hawaii, and New England would be destined to failure. I will not waste the time and brainpower to do so.

The cultural and ethnic South was and still is a bit larger than the states of the C.S.A. I have lived my whole life in rural southern Indiana, what some Southern Nationalists term as part of Greater Appalachia or the Dixie Frontier. Much of Southern Indiana was initially settled by Southerners, as was Kentucky. (I live about an hour northwest of Louisville, Kentucky). My ancestors, before they arrived in Indiana, seem to have been concentrated between Pennsylvania and North Carolina. Some of my mother’s family were Scots who lived in Virginia during the American Revolution period, and fought in patriot militia units. The Knights of the Golden Circle were active in my home county (Orange) during the War of Northern Aggression. I consider myself ethnically, culturally, and ideologically a Southerner -and arguably one by geography also.

I had my racial awakening almost three years ago, and that shifted my focus. In the last four years I have matured from an American patriot civic nationalist to an American patriot type White Nationalist to a White Nationalist Amerikaner to a Southern White Nationalist. During this whole time my worldview was rural, Christian, limited government republic oriented, and Southern. Embracing full out Southern Nationalism is clearly the next logical step in my awakening.

I had not posted about the Amerikaner concept for several months, but since I now post at the multi-author blog Identity Dixie, I thought that I should clarify my past activities and current position on the Amerikaner concept. I still care about the fate of all white people worldwide. Because of their current plight, I am very concerned about the Boer volk in South Africa. I just now believe it best to devote the bulk of my political and cultural writing to reviving the Southern people and culture that I consider myself a part of -to as the boys at Identity Dixie proclaim “Retake Everything”.

Farewell, thou Amerikaner. Raise that Dixie flag!

© Copyright 2017 by Joseph Charles Putnam of Orange County, Indiana. All rights reserved.

Author: Joe Putnam

I am a Christian (Reformed/Sovereign Grace Baptist type), white American of Western European bloodline, advocate of an agrarian social order, Kinist, White Nationalist, admirer of America’s Founding Fathers and the Boys in Gray, homesteader, indie published author, and amateur historian. I have indie published several books, all of which are available from Amazon. I am a life long resident of rural Orange County, IN –in the part of the Upper South that many would term Greater Appalachia or the Dixie Frontier. In addition to my own blog "Putnam Liberty Notes", from May through July of 2017 I dual published many of my posts at the popular multi-author Alt-South blog Identity Dixie. In addition to my blog writings, I am currently gearing up for (at least) two more book projects –one theological and one historical. The theological one will cover the three interpretational views of Daniel’s 70th Week. I hope to have this book in print in late summer 2017. (Hint: I am, not a Dispensational Futurist). The historical book will be a biography of George Rogers Clark (1752-1818). Clark was a noted Virginia militia officer who’s campaigns, including his successful siege of Vincennes, basically took the Old Northwest from Britain during the American Revolution. Clark spent the rest of his life around the river that separates Clarksville, IN from Louisville, Kentucky. I hope to have my Clark bio in print in early 2018.

2 thoughts on “Farewell to the Amerikaner”

  1. I would say I mostly agree with what you are saying. Although still do think much of the Midwest still has an identity (although not as strong as the south). Many mid westerners (especially OH, IL, and IN) are of at least partially Anglo stock and can trace their roots back to the Mayflower. Many of the midwesterners are descended from New Englanders who came to the midwest during the Henry Clay days. And I would certainly say the “southern midwest” is slightly more southern, but I still consider it the north. I looked at your county’s wiki page and it says it was started as a Quaker town, but I’m sure there were also southerners that settled your area. Overall though, I would still consider the rural midwest (even the more German parts) to be allies. Our main problems are the liberal urbanite whites and the New York Jew.

    Like

    1. Thanks for enjoying my piece, and leaving a comment.
      I mean no harm to those of German ancestry (I am between 1/8 and 1/4 German, the exact percentage being difficult to ascertain when most of one’s family has been in America before decent (aka post-1850) census documents are available). I consider all white as allies; I just now hold that America should be multiple white countries like in Europe, not one white monolithic ethnostate. There are pockets of Germans in Southern Indiana, such as around Jasper in neighboring Dubois County. There certainly has been some mixture of Anglos, Celts, and Germans in Southern Indiana -though family distinctions are still existent.
      The Quakers who were *some* of the early settlers of Orange County came from Orange County, in North Carolina. I believe that the N.C. Orange county was named for the Reformed Protestant royal Dutch House of Orange. Southern Indiana, especially for the first 40 years, was heavily settled by the Anglo-Celtic people of the Upper South. We were settled from the Ohio River, slowly spreading upward. Some of my mother’s family have been in Orange County for almost 200 years, and they were Southerners. For example, one of my 3rd great grandfathers, whose 1833 marriage license I have viewed in the Lawrence county courthouse, was of Scottish lineage and was born in Virginia; both his grandfathers served as Lieutenants in Virginia patriot militia units during the American Revolution.
      Joe

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

