Thursday Morning Update on Southern Indiana Storm Damage

My posts are normally to do with ideology and national events, but I am going to put up a very brief personal one today. This is the first I have been on the internet in 48 hours. Over Tuesday evening/ Wednesday morning, my area of Southern Indiana was hit by some major storms.

We had heavy rain, hail, and very strong winds. The driveway on my homestead washed out from the raging waters of the creek that it crosses. This creek channels much of the storm runoff from the area’s highest hill, Mt. Airie. I did not walk all of the woods, but I seem to have came through the storm with no significant tree damage. I saw several trees in the French Lick/West Baden area that were either uprooted or twisted apart/split down the trunk (especially evergreens). I understand that there was property damage also, but not in my immediate area.

franksculvert

Close to home, a few hundred yards down my road, a new road culvert that the County had very recently put in partially jutted up through the blacktop, closing off part of the little two lane road. A little church cemetery quite near my home had a huge, mature spruce tree uprooted and down on some gravestones. I have relatives buried in that cemetery, and it was sad to see the old tree go.

highlandsprucedownpic

The electricity was knocked out in many areas of Southern Indiana. When I drove into town Wednesday morning, both Dairy Queen and McDonald’s were closed, and the gas station signs were dark. At 8 AM, the radio station was running on auxiliary power (aka a generator) and had no WiFi connection to get a national news feed. Public school classes were cancelled at Springs Valley and Paoli.

An EF-1 tornado touched down in the Paoli area, Paoli being about a dozen miles east of me. Dubois County, which borders Orange County on the left, had an EF-2 tornado go through the area of the town of Ireland. Washington County, which borders Orange County on the right, had winds that may have been up to 90 miles per hour.

I plan to have a regular themed commentary piece posted no later than Friday evening for my weekend readers.

© Copyright 2017 by Joseph Charles Putnam of Orange County, Indiana. All rights reserved.

Author: Joe Putnam

I am a Christian (Reformed/Sovereign Grace Baptist type), white American of Western European bloodline, advocate of an agrarian social order, Kinist, White Nationalist, admirer of America’s Founding Fathers and the Boys in Gray, homesteader, indie published author, and amateur historian. I have indie published several books, all of which are available from Amazon. I am a life long resident of rural Orange County, IN –in the part of the Upper South that many would term Greater Appalachia or the Dixie Frontier. In addition to my own blog, I am a contributor to the multi-author blog Identity Dixie. I am active in promotion of the Alt-South movement. In addition to my blog writings, I am currently gearing up for (at least) two more book projects –one theological and one historical. The theological one will cover the three interpretational views of Daniel’s 70th Week. I hope to have this book in print in late summer 2017. (Hint: I am, not a Dispensational Futurist). The historical book will be a biography of George Rogers Clark (1752-1818). Clark was a noted Virginia militia officer who’s campaigns, including his successful siege of Vincennes, basically took the Old Northwest from Britain during the American Revolution. Clark spent the rest of his life around the river that separates Clarksville, IN from Louisville, Kentucky. I hope to have my Clark bio in print in early 2018.

Leave a Reply

