Shod for Liberty and Survival

 

As America totters on the brink of economic collapse, conflict, racial strife, and open governmental tyranny –one subject that my brothers need to consider is that of footwear for crisis situations.

If one is to be working the land, covering large distances on foot, hiking over rough terrain, occasionally running, and fording creeks –one should not be wearing penny loafers or Nikes! Serious shoes are required.

My daily footwear is combat boots and cowboy boots. While I like the style and comfort of cowboy boots, they are not ideal for running, hiking over rough terrain, or paramilitary use.

I currently own four pairs of boots that see regular use. They are: (1) an old (heavily worn) pair of HH/Corcoran “Tanker” combat boots with side wrap instead of laces, (2) a pair of Corcoran #1525, ten inch Leather Field Boots, (3) a pair of Tony Llama “Americana” cowboy boots, and (4) a pair of inexpensive (uninsulated) rubber boots. I also have a pair of fancy Tony Llamas for dress, and a pair of running shoes for running. But 95% or more of the time I am wearing one of the aforementioned four pairs of boots.

Slip on boots are convenient when one will be working in the mud, and frequently going indoors. Not all slip on boots have a “cowboy” style high heel (which is not optimum for walking long distances). Tie on boots generally are better for activity on rough terrain, as one’s foot does not slip as much inside the boot.

While not pleasant in hot weather, slip on rubber “muck/barnyard” type boots are very useful for several activities. They keep ones feet dry while fording creeks, do not require much cleanup after being in major deep mud, and are inexpensive (currently around $20). And you can even find inexpensive American made ones!

The downside is that rubber boots are lousy for running, and ones feet get cold in them in wintertime. Insulated ones are available, but all the ones I have seen are foreign made.

Athletic/tennis shoes are comfortable, and great for walking long distances and running. They DO NOT protect ones feet when hiking over rough ground, are not waterproof, and disintegrate under hard use. There is a reason that armies do not issue their troops tennis shoes instead of leather combat boots! After a collapse, tennis shoes will be basically worthless. Ankle length hiking boots are sort of a cross between a tennis shoe and a combat boot; I am not impressed with them for hard service.

I believe that the best all-around boot for work, hiking, and combat is the leather, lace up combat boot. My pair of Corcoran brand combat Leather Field Boots is my favorite pair of boots. (I am wearing them in the header picture of this site as I kneel on the creek’s gravel bar). Combat boots can be run in, but not with the same comfort over long distances as athletic shoes. I normally run three miles in running shoes, but I rarely run over a mile in combat boots.

At this point in my life, I only buy American made boots. My Corcoran 1525 Leather Field Boots are superb quality, American made, good looking, comfortable, and functional. They do retail for about $200, but they can be found online for perhaps 20% off if one shops around. (I think Corcoran was owned by the HH Brown Shoe Co., and my 12 plus year old HH Tanker boots are now sold as Corcorans). I have also, in the past, owned several pairs of the Altama brand American made boots that are commonly available for $80-90. Compared to Corcoran, they are junk. Sorry, but it is true.

You need to have at least one pair of good boots. On a final note, I remember reading somewhere several years ago an adage to the effect that “if there is light to see your sights, you should have your boots on”. That is a prudent thought, my fellow Amerikaners.

© Copyright 2016 by Joseph Charles Putnam of Orange County, Indiana. All rights reserved.

 

joesboots

Author: Joe Putnam

I am a Christian (Reformed/Sovereign Grace Baptist type), white American of Western European bloodline, advocate of an agrarian social order, Kinist, White Nationalist, admirer of America’s Founding Fathers and the Boys in Gray, homesteader, indie published author, and amateur historian. I have indie published several books, all of which are available from Amazon. I am a life long resident of rural Orange County, IN –in the part of the Upper South that many would term Greater Appalachia or the Dixie Frontier. In addition to my own blog, I am a contributor to the multi-author blog Identity Dixie. I am active in promotion of the Alt-South movement. In addition to my blog writings, I am currently gearing up for (at least) two more book projects –one theological and one historical. The theological one will cover the three interpretational views of Daniel’s 70th Week. I hope to have this book in print in late summer 2017. (Hint: I am, not a Dispensational Futurist). The historical book will be a biography of George Rogers Clark (1752-1818). Clark was a noted Virginia militia officer who’s campaigns, including his successful siege of Vincennes, basically took the Old Northwest from Britain during the American Revolution. Clark spent the rest of his life around the river that separates Clarksville, IN from Louisville, Kentucky. I hope to have my Clark bio in print in early 2018.

1 thought on “Shod for Liberty and Survival”

  1. Good post Joe! I have been a bit annoyed at my job with telecom technicians who are improperly shorn. The very idea a field technician while on call ending up in the California desert wearing tennis shoes makes me wonder about their preparedness. I normally wear Red Wing steel toe style 2233 lace ups and 2231 pull ons. I agree the pull ons are less comfortable for the long haul. These boots can be repaired and resoled so they can last a very long time. High tops can help prevent rolling your ankles over rocks and rough terrain.

    Like

Leave a Reply

