I am an Amerikaner

Back on June 16, 2016 a guy blogging under the name of Tnerb posted a great ideological essay on The Right Stuff. This piece by Tnerb was titled Behold, I Teach You the Amerikaner. It was the best post that I have ever read at TRS. While not in full alignment with all my views, I think that Tnerb’s article is definitely worth reading.

This post by Tnerb suggested that all white Americans should develop a clear race/people/volk consciousness, and adopt a name for themselves. For this, he suggested the somewhat Germanic title of Amerikaner for white Americans, which is a reference to the white Boer Afrikaners of South Africa. Tnerb stated that “The parallels between Boers and Amerikaners are fascinating, but the divergences speak in our favor. Both nations colonized a continent and fought the British, though we were more clearly victorious and maintained our independence. Both nations have a long, storied history with Black Africans. And while Boers directly fought their Blacks, Amerikaners more or less kept them in line and so far have not been forced to relinquish private property to them as Afriakners have. Boers and Amerikaners are also both historically Protestant nations that maintain a spirit of rugged individualism and enthusiasm for firearms as part of their defining national character”.

     I think this Amerikaner idea has merit. The image used by Tnerb for the top of his piece was a painting of white settlers, led by Daniel Boone, crossing the eastern mountains. Very good.

Then, earlier this week prominent Alt-Right blogger Laurence Murray took off on this theme with a lengthy blog post titled Amerikaner Free State. I think that Murray’s essay fell far short of Tnerb’s.

Murray’s Amerikaner Free State essay was published at TRS and his own blog. Murray postulated that white Americans will need to secede from the U.S.A. and form their own white ethno state. But he took the concept away from what Tnerb started it as. Tnerb likened the white settlers of American to the white settlers of South Africa. Tnerb emphasized three things about Amerikaners (and Afrikaners): (1) our Protestant religious heritage, (2) our rugged agrarian ancestors, (3) and love of small arms. These three things are missing from Laurence Murray’s piece.

Basically, while this is all purely theoretical, Murray wants a large white ethno state, covering much of the present lower 48. He assumes that much of Texas and the Southwest will move toward Mexico, racially and legally. In the graphics at the beginning of his piece, Murray postulates Minneapolis as a potential capital, states that the form of government should be an “Ethnocratic military council” with a “Senate”, and pictures a potential flag for the AFS. The flag depicts a red banner featuring the head of the Statue of Liberty superimposed on a “black sun” icon. (The black sun has religious significance to some European neo-pagans). There went our Protestant heritage. He also states that only 88% of the people might be white, the nonwhites not being citizens. The state of Murray’s dream is perhaps not so much a free white state, as just a (mainly) white state. As I understand that Laurence Murray was raised in NYC, and was a child when 9/11 occurred, it may be that he does not identify with the religion and culture of early (Plymouth Rock to 1861) America.

Before 1900, the U.S. was a land of Europeans, primarily Western Europeans (the Germanic and Celtic peoples). The concept of all white Americans fusing together around a shared Amerikaner identity is a stimulating one. But if that identity downplays (or flat out ignores) our conservative Protestant, rural, agrarian, gun owning, individual liberty, paramilitary past –then that identity would be doomed to failure.

Some people, including Tnerb in his piece, seem to use the term Boer and Afrikaner interchangeably. My research shows that the Afrikaner population in what is now South Africa was mainly of Dutch origin, with notable additions of German and French Huguenot blood. They were traditionally a Calvinist people, and shared the Dutch based Afrikaans language. But they split into two distinct groups about 200 years ago, Cape Dutch and Boers. The Cape Dutch were content to live under British Rule, while the Boers went on the Great Trek to escape British rule, and to preserve their culture and religion in the African bush. The word Boer means farmer. Perhaps this distinction is akin to dividing white Americans into Yankees and Southerners.

In like manner and in the same time period, early America was settled by Western European peoples, who were generally of one variant or another of the Reformed/Calvinist faith. Americas blood was basically English, Ulster-Scott (especially in the South), and German –with a bit of French and Irish also. We had a more prolonged trek, first across the Appalachians and then to the Rockies. We also fought Britain, prized liberty, lived as agrarians, and struggled with Negroes. Eventually, we both had problems with the Jews.

Some might fear that the concept of a shared and racially exclusive concept of Amerikaner identity is unpatriotic, and tending toward the end of the corrupt and decaying political entity known as the U.S.A.  There are three basic reasons for this anxiety of the potential end of the U.S.A.: fear, historical ignorance, and idolatry.

Fear is perhaps the most common among patriots. They fear that the liberty oriented ideology of the American Revolution and founding documents would be lost. The C.S.A. started up with liberty like early America, and proves that a fall of the U.S.A. is not necessary the death of liberty. But the C.S.A. was by and large a moral, rural, agrarian, Protestant Christian country –unlike the present day U.S.A..

The second reason is a lack of historical reference. Countries rise and fall but people groups remain. Twentieth century Americans who have been indoctrinated into the multicultural/proposition nation fantasy have forgotten this. Think of the multiple governments that have ruled Germany or Russian over the past 200 years –and yet Germany and Russia remain.

The third reason is that they have idolized the comfortable, effeminate, urbanized, materialistic lifestyle of present day degenerate America and wish to see it go on no matter the costs. The first objection is understandable, but not necessarily true; the second is not true; and the third is weakness that needs to be destroyed.

Consider the Southerners who formed the Confederate States of America in 1861. They were literally the grandsons of some of America’s founding generation, including some of the greatest of the Founding Fathers. Robert E. Lee was the son of a noted patriot cavalry officer of the American Revolution, Lt. Col. Light Horse Harry Lee. Further, Robert E. Lee was married to the great granddaughter of George Washington! At only 17 years of age, Thomas Garland Jefferson, a cadet at Virginia’s prestigious VMI and a great, great nephew of the author of the 1776 Declaration of Independence, fought –and died- for his country in a gray uniform! Lt. Gen. Richard S. Taylor of the C.S.A. was the grandson of Continental army officer Lt. Col. Richard L. Taylor and the son of Zachary Taylor -a U.S. Army Major General and 12th President of the United States! These are only a few noteworthy examples.

Further, let us look at the Boys of ’76 for a moment. After the Revolution, many of the patriots who had given years of their lives fighting for this republic were in financial straits. Some were even impoverished. Inflation of the Continental Congress’ paper currency, debts incurred during the war, lack of attention to one’s property holdings while fighting, Eastern bankers, and land speculators took their toll on many American patriots.

A bit over a decade ago I read a reprint of John Bakeless’ 1957 book Background to Glory (The Life of George Rogers Clark). I recalled something from it and I flipped through it as I wrote this post. Because of debts incurred in the military service of the United States, George Rogers Clark, the legendary Brigadier General of Virginia militia who took the Old Northwest, was in great financial distress. Clark’s old friend and militia compatriot Daniel Boone was also hit hard. In the 29th chapter Bakeless states the following: “Boone and his family were living in an open lean-to, cheerfully hunting to provide their food”. Boone exited America and crossed the Mississippi River to Spanish territory, where he became a citizen. G.R. Clark reportedly considered doing likewise, but did not. The great warrior Clark finished his life in the Clarksville, Indiana and Louisville, Kentucky area, where he died basically penniless.

Think for a minute of the creation of Texas. Men like Sam Houston and Jim Bowie were white Americans who left to settle in the wilds of Texas, then under the rule of Mexico. Bowie -and legendary Tennessee Indian fighter and former U.S. Congressman Davy Crockett- fought and died for Texas, while Sam Houston lived to see Texas become a free and sovereign republic –and then to see his new country be absorbed back into his old country.

As I stated in my essay Multiculturalism: Death of the American People in my book As America Fades “America is not some universal idea that all peoples can identify with or aspire to;” America was a meant to be a land of white, (usually Protestant) Christian, armed, freemen. These freemen were generally small farmers, though there were craftsmen and a few small cities. The limited government of our Constitution, the political safeguards of the Bill of Rights, our citizen militia system, our jury trials, and the whites only citizenship policy of our first naturalization act in 1790 expressed who we were as a people. In short, America was simply the legal expression of the Amerikaner people.

I am not advocating for the dissolution of the U.S.A. I would love my country to be restored to its founding standards, legally and demographically. I just do not believe that it will happen. Bracing for a future of political tyranny and/or economic collapse, followed by the formation of ethno states out of what used to be the U.S.A. seems to be more realistic.

I do not know what plans God has for the U.S.A. America well likely fracture into multiple ethno states at some point, as multiethnic empires eventually do. Based upon our manifold personal and national sins, it is clear that God must be displeased with us. Only by humbling ourselves in repentance, as General turned President George Washington stated in his 1789 Thanksgiving proclamation, can we avoid the wrath of God falling upon us.

What and how this will play out is yet to be seen. I am not looking for fire and brimstone. Normally God used natural disasters, famines, and warfare to chastise his people –or those who claimed to be his people. The economic crisis we are facing is perhaps judgement for our covetousness. The racial strife we face is perhaps judgement for how we horrifically mistreated our European brothers in the World Wars. Perhaps the public and governmentally approved protection of and celebration of sodomy, LGBTQ, and various perversions sweeping our land is the judgment for the fornications and adulteries of generations of non-perverted Americans?

In closing, governments rise and fall, but people groups go on. Whether in the English colonies, the early American republic, Texas, the Confederate States of America, or the present day corrupt and decaying American empire –the two constants of our people are the Amerikaner bloodline and the English language. I am an Amerikaner.

© Copyright 2016 by Joseph Charles Putnam of Orange County, Indiana. All rights reserved.

Author: Joe Putnam

I am a Christian (Reformed/Sovereign Grace Baptist type), white American of Western European bloodline, advocate of an agrarian social order, Kinist, White Nationalist, admirer of America’s Founding Fathers and the Boys in Gray, homesteader, indie published author, and amateur historian. I have indie published several books, all of which are available from Amazon. My Amazon author page may be view at this link: https://www.amazon.com/Joseph-Charles-Putnam/e/B00CRLUO6A/ref=dp_byline_cont_book_1 I am a life long resident of rural Orange County, IN –in the part of the Upper South that many would term Greater Appalachia or the Dixie Frontier. In addition to my blog writings, I am currently gearing up for (at least) two more book projects –one theological and one historical. The theological one will cover the three interpretational views of Daniel’s 70th Week. I hope to have this book in print in late summer 2017. (Hint: I am, not a Dispensational Futurist). The historical book will be a biography of George Rogers Clark (1752-1818). Clark was a noted Virginia militia officer who’s campaigns, including his successful siege of Vincennes, basically took the Old Northwest from Britain during the American Revolution. Clark spent the rest of his life around the river that separates Clarksville, IN from Louisville, Kentucky. I hope to have my Clark bio in print in early 2018.

20 thoughts on “I am an Amerikaner”

  1. Wow, that was one of the best articles I read in a long time. I am in complete agreement about what you’re saying and I am also familiar with TNERB. I wish we could get other kinists on board with The Agrarian concept.

    Like

  2. I am from South Africa, White male.. I have to watch as they (blacks) murder and rape my kind all in the name of apartheid! while the rest of the world just watch and turn a blind eye.. When will this end,when will someone do something.. If a white man kills a black the whole world is up and arms,when a black man kills a white man they are praised and encouraged to keep doing it “kill the boer” they shout.. I now call upon the white warriors of this world ..help us,please find a way or we are all doomed and our once great nation and land that we fought for will return to dust.. there are 10 whites murdered each day in South Africa ,My heart and prayers goes out to all my brothers and sisters.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for commenting, Hans and Boer. I am glad that you enjoyed the essay. I think that this essay is perhaps the most important one I have written on this blog.
    My prayers do go out for the oppressed Boer people in South Africa. I pray that god will preserve the Boer people, and my own Amerikaner people also.

    Like

  4. I wanted to commend you on your well written article. I enjoyed it immensely. I just found your site and must say it is good to find another warrior in the struggle for our way of life. As I see both christian values and the white race being vilified by a corrupt government and media, it reminds us that we need as many allies as we can find.
    I am former military and now run a small farm in Georgia. As a native Georgian I enjoyed your take on the CSA. I take great pride in the fact I am a descendant of a Confederate veteran and it is good to see someone acknowledge that the southern people were, for the most part, moral christians who were fighting a good fight. Thanks again and I plan on buying your books and look forward to more articles from you. Even if you are a yankee.

    Like

    1. Hello Chris,
      I am glad that you liked my essay. Thanks for planing to buy my books. As to me being a being a Yankee, some of my mother’s family lived in the South and fought in patriot militia units in the American Revolution. About 200 years ago the children spread out, some to southern Indiana where I live. I am about an hour above the Ohio River, and I personally identify with Virginia and the South much more so than with Boston or NYC. Perhaps I am a Yankee geographically, but a Southerner in my soul? Thanks again for commenting on my essay.
      Joe

      Like

  5. Just finished reading your article and, I have to say, I really enjoyed it!

    What I like the most about it is that it cuts to the core issue of being an American: We are White and are culturally Western, but we also aren’t interchangeable with Europeans living back in the old word. We have our own unique history, culture, and symbols. Many Nationalists seem to overlook that.

    If you’re interested, maybe you could stop by Endphase 21 sometime? We are a European Preservationist community and have some very good ethnic Nationalist members. I’d definitely like to chat with you about your ideas on being an Amerikaner.

    https://www.endphase21.org/forums/content.php

    Like

  6. Yesterday, my newest book, “Bloggings Of An Amerikaner”, went live on the CreateSpace website, and this morning it is live on Amazon. The Amerikaner identity concept is the core of this little book, and this essay appears in the print book. . I am leaving up my Amerikaner essay, as I wish to spread my ideology more than to make people buy everything I write.
    On a side note, this “I am an Amerikaner” essay on this blog has a few typos that I fixed for the print version. On of them was spelling Lawrence Murray’s name with a “u” instead of a “w”. If you ever read this Lawrence, my apologies.
    Joe Putnam
    1/14/2017 10:25AM

    Like

  7. That’s a great essay and I’m glad I found it and this website. I’m wondering if this is why there seems to be such a disconnect these days on anything regarding history or on being historic?? The Govt hates history and only brings it up when it suits their purposes. Myself? It was and continues to be one of my favorite subjects. Especially after realizing the establishment hates it and essays like this one even more so. Proving once again (basically to myself) that the louder they scream the more likely whatever they were screaming about to be the correct and righteous path. Anyway and not wanting to miss anymore of your commentary, consider yourself bookmarked…

    Like

  8. I am a youth from a beautiful city Tsingtau(Qingdao) , the former colony of Germany. And I am a Christian. I love Germany when I am sensebal. I will say, the White People are the Hero of Our Human Being. I am proud of You. In fact, althought the White People really made some bad things, but the coloured Peoples for example Chinese, Japanese, Negro, Mongolian, Hun, they made more and more! Today they do a lot of evil things everyday. I support you and wish my hometown Tsingtau can return to Germany again!
    Sorry I am not fluent at English.
    Regards to the USA!

    Like

    1. Hello Wilhelm,
      I was just checking my blog and saw your recent comment. Thanks for enjoying my essay and for saying hello. I am pleased that my little blog has of readership around the world. I confess that I am not up on the situation in Tsingtau, but it looks a tad grim for the Germanic peoples around the world -from Europe to the USA to South Africa. I am all European and part German, all my people having been here for at least 140 years.
      Thanks again for taking the time to comment,
      Joe

      Like

      1. You are welcome! Tsingtau now is a coastal city of PR China. We are all Human Being! But I am sorry for my unfluent English. I can’t say to many words.

        Like

  9. And while Boers directly fought their Blacks, Amerikaners more or less kept them in line and so far have not been forced to relinquish private property to them as Afriakners have.
    In this sentence, I think there is a little mistake, the last but one word is “Afrikaners” not “Afriakners”.
    Regards!

    Like

    1. Yes indeed, it appears that a did a typographical mistake in my Tnerb quote. The word I meant was Afrikaners.
      I hope you enjoy my blog essays; it will give you an idea about what racially conscious Christians dissidents in the U.S.A. think. If only there were more of us!

      Like

      1. I have learned many things from this article. For example, you said that Amerikaner are freemen. Yes, you are freemen, we Tsingtauer also were freemen at one time, but now we arn’t free, we are only Chinese docile citizen of its mandarins. In that case, Tsingtau isn’t Tsingtau now, my hometown has been a vulgarized City. I believe, in now your homeland has been partly destroyed from these “coloured people”, they hate you and want to be you and your conntry’s lord, of course including Chinese. By race, I am a Chinese in the main, but I know, Chinese is a evil Nation, they want to dominating the World! And they don’t want to be thinksgiver. Your Amerikaner must be awaken and sure of yourself self-confidence. USA must be a White Nationalist State but not a “Multicultural” State, because Negro, Asian culture and people (they must be naturalized) can only be an addition to yours. But, to my surprise, many of them want to change this State and western-christian Civilazation!
        But I am sorry my English is unfluent so that many meanings I can’t say to you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

