The Inadvertent Blogger

 

I am somewhat of an inadvertent blogger. I am posting this brief essay to explain why I am blogging. I never intended to start a blog. When I self-published my second book in March of 2016, I decided to promote it more than the first one.

In addition to taking out a paid ad on the website of the American Free Press, I started this blog to establish an internet presence for myself and my book Putnam Liberty Notes. I named the blog Putnam Liberty Notes, just like the book, as it was set up to promote the book. Then in May 2016 I decided to launch a series of commentary essays on the blog. In retrospect, I probably should have used a different name for the blog, to distinguish it from the book.

I wrote and posted 22 essays between May 18 and July 11 on this blog. I then added six other essays and an epilogue and published them in book form as As America Fades in early August 2016. I did not intend to continue blogging after the print publication of AAF, but I posted two commentary essays in August and restarted full bore in September.

I never intended to be a blogger. I wanted to be an author of books. I have never viewed internet posting as on the same, for lack of better terms, respectable and authoritative status as publishing print books. The internet is a great way to get news real time, but often a poor way to educate oneself on issues of philosophical and historical importance –especially when dealing with anonymous posters.

WordPress gives my stats for my blog. It tells me how many unique visitors and page views I get -broken down by day, week, month, and year. It also tells me if a visitor clicks on a link I put in my articles.

Further, it gives me the country of origin of each page view. I ran the numbers last weekend, and about 95.4% of my page views were from the U.S.A. The other 5.6% were spread out over 25 different counties –with the U.K., Australia, Canada, and northern Europe leading the pack.

Based upon talking to my acquaintances, I think that I only personally/face to face know about 1% of the people who have visited my blog. I do not know any of the foreign visitors. I have MANY more blog visitors than book sales!

I also have a comment feature at the end of each essay, but it is rarely used. It appears that only about 2% of the people who have visited my blog have left a comment. That being said, I had a nice discussion about juries with a new commentator on the “about” section of my blog recently. I also electronically “met” a fellow Sovereign Grace and agrarian minded kinist blogger last week on another website’s comment section.

Despite the fact that I read and have commented on news articles and a variety of blogs, sometimes mentioning my own blog, my daily visitors have dropped a bit recently. I think that this might be because I have made references to the Bible and Christianity in my essays and comments – something of little interest to many patriots, libertarians, and alt-righters.

This morning I was re-reviewing the stats for the AFP web ad that I ran for my book back in May of this year. The ad image was designed for me by Paul Angel, who does double duty for AFP and Barnes Review, and it was quite nicely done in my opinion. The AFP webmaster emailed me the number of page views they had during that time period, and the number of clicks on my ad. About one out of a thousand clicks were on my ad. Seriously.

Maybe most Americans no longer read books. Maybe YouTube and the various social media sites have made most of us so lazy that most people no longer even read blogs or news articles? But a few still care and still read!

In the last nine months, between my two little books and my blog, I have published around 80 essays totaling almost 300 pages. I suppose that I could post indefinitely, if I had the reader interest.

I enjoy blogging, even though it generates me no income. I am glad to help my countrymen learn about our heritage, and hopefully see and prepare for the danger approaching.

Furthermore, in this technological day and age, it would be difficult to be an author –especially an indie author-without having a blog or social media presence for readers to check out before they buy. It might be possible, but would be outside the norm.

People need to be reading truth. To highlight this, I had a discussion yesterday with a relative, a Cruz supporter who now supports Trump. She informed me that (1) the presidential election is rigged (likely true), (2) that Hillary was going to win the election, (3) that Hillary has health problems and could not be president for four years (likely true), and (4) that that an unspecified “they” would not let her VP Tim Kaine step in and be the president –“they” were going to bring Obama back as “acting President”. Seriously.

Obviously, they cannot bring back Obama for a third term, if they even wish to pretend that we are still the country that operates under the Constitution. Further, people like her do not comprehend that Obama is just the latest puppet for the (((powers that be))), and that they do not need Obama to continue the destruction of America. The destruction has proceeded right along for my lifetime, regardless of who was in the White House.

And her solution to the rigged election: go out and vote anyway. Why? Maybe because her 501 (c)(3) Christian Zionist radio false teachers tell her to? And no she has not read my last two books.

Another person present for this brief conversation complained against the Electoral College, apparently thinking that Americans are better informed now and the popular vote should determine the president. They do not know that the Constitution does not even make provision for a popular vote for president to be taken, and citizens were more principled and educated then.

People really need to go back and read my October 12 blog post Elections Reality –and the Way Out. Ignoring reality does not make it go away.

      As I am attempting to develop a homestead, study theology, and do research for a potential patriot book project –I only have so much time. If my rather small audience stagnates, I may trim this back to a once a week blog.

The frequency of my posts is largely dependent on my readers. If you like this blog, please tell two friends about it this week. That could triple my audience overnight!

Copyright © 2016 by Joseph Charles Putnam of Orange County, Indiana. All rights reserved.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Joe Putnam

I am a Christian (Reformed/Sovereign Grace Baptist type), white American of Western European bloodline, advocate of an agrarian social order, Kinist, White Nationalist, admirer of America’s Founding Fathers and the Boys in Gray, homesteader, indie published author, and amateur historian. I have indie published several books, all of which are available from Amazon. My Amazon author page may be view at this link: https://www.amazon.com/Joseph-Charles-Putnam/e/B00CRLUO6A/ref=dp_byline_cont_book_1 I am a life long resident of rural Orange County, IN –in the part of the Upper South that many would term Greater Appalachia or the Dixie Frontier. In addition to my blog writings, I am currently gearing up for (at least) two more book projects –one theological and one historical. The theological one will cover the three interpretational views of Daniel’s 70th Week. I hope to have this book in print in late summer 2017. (Hint: I am, not a Dispensational Futurist). The historical book will be a biography of George Rogers Clark (1752-1818). Clark was a noted Virginia militia officer who’s campaigns, including his successful siege of Vincennes, basically took the Old Northwest from Britain during the American Revolution. Clark spent the rest of his life around the river that separates Clarksville, IN from Louisville, Kentucky. I hope to have my Clark bio in print in early 2018.

Leave a Reply

